Like many cities across the country, San Antonio has a council-manager form of government. Voters elect 10 council members and a mayor to pass laws and policies for the city. Elections are held in May of each odd-numbered year and the council members and mayor are term-limited by four two-year terms.

The current San Antonio Mayor is Julián Castro, and Brooks City Base is in City Council District 3, currently represented by Councilwoman Rebecca Viagran.

The council hires a city manager who serves as San Antonio’s chief administrator and is responsible for implementing the actions and policies of the council. The city manager also administers the day-to-day operations of the city and oversees 36 departments, 12,000 employees and the council-approved annual budget. San Antonio’s City Manager is Sheryl Sculley.

The overall managing and governing body of Bexar County is the Commissioners Court, which is composed of the county judge and four commissioners. The Commissioners Court  is responsible for budgetary decisions, tax and revenue decisions and all personnel decisions except for certain positions that are either elected or appointed by the judiciary or other committees. The County Judge is Nelson W. Wolff and the County Commissioner who represents Brooks City Base is Tommy Adkisson, Precinct 4.

Bexar County is comprised of five United States Congressional Districts. Brooks City Base falls within Texas District 35, which is represented by Congressman Lloyd Doggett. Texas is represented in the United States Senate by John Cornyn and Ted Cruz.

The Governor of Texas is Rick Perry. Brooks City Base is represented in the Texas House of Representatives by Representative Roland Gutierrez, District 119, and in the Texas Senate by Senator Carlos Uresti, District 19.